Forgot your account information?  |  Create a CME account

Canada joining TPP a major win for Canadian industry: CME

Published by Stephanie Brooks on June 19, 2012

Canada’s inclusion in the Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) announced today is a long-awaited success that will expand trade with some of the world’s major economies and further opportunities for industry, according to the Canadian Manufacturers & Exporters (CME).

With Canada at the table for trade negotiations by September, manufacturers with integrated cross-border supply chains can be assured their interests will be represented.

Canada’s joining is critical as TPP might very well set the standard for how international trade agreements will be negotiated in the future,” says CME’s VP of Global Business Policy, Jean-Michel Laurin. “Now, it’s even more important because our two NAFTA partners are also in.”

CME and many of its member associations in the Canadian Manufacturing Coalition have been actively advocating for Canada’s inclusion, along with the Government of Canada, the US Administration and American Congress.        

“We want to commend Prime Minister Harper and Minister Fast for their leadership in securing a seat for Canada at the TPP table,” says Laurin. “We also want to thank the Chair of the House of Commons Standing Committee on International Trade, Rob Merrifield, DFAIT officials, and especially, companies with integrated cross-border supply chains and our association partners for making the case for Canada’s inclusion.”

CME continues to work on behalf of Canadian manufacturers and exporters who have a lot at stake in the ambitious agreement. By comparing notes on priority negotiating issues with other TPP counterparts, and working closely with its membership to define Canada’s negotiating strategy, CME is ensuring Canada will be ready to enter the negotiations at full speed.

Click here to view CME’s submission to the Government of Canada on TPP.

Click here to view CME’s Joint Letter to the Prime Minister on TPP.

Found in: cmenews cme

National Office

Alberta British Columbia
Manitoba New Brunswick
Newfoundland & Labrador Nova Scotia
Ontario Québec
Prince Edward Island Saskatchewan