Forgot your account information?  |  Create a CME account

Siemens Canada celebrates 100 years of industry solutions

Published by Stephanie Brooks on August 27, 2012

It is with great pride and pleasure Canadian Manufacturers & Exporters (CME) has the opportunity to congratulate Siemens Canada Ltd., a longstanding member, on its 100-year anniversary of providing innovative solutions to industry.

Since the Siemens Company of Canada Limited was officially created on August 29, 1912, in the historic financial district of Montreal, the company has provided long-term solutions to industry, energy, healthcare, and infrastructure.

The German-based company supplied a system of 158 telephone call boxes to the Winnipeg Police Department in 1913 - the first of its kind in North America - and remained in service for nearly 60 years.

Years later, Siemens provided the power supply and illumination of the EXPO '67 stadium, and its electrical distribution and computerized roof control lit up the Toronto SkyDome (now Rogers Centre) in 1989.

It continued to light the path for innovation in 1994, when Osram Sylvania Ltd., a Siemens company, illuminated the world's tallest free-standing structure, the CN Tower.

A mere three years later, Siemens installed the world's first fully integrated airfield lighting control system at the Vancouver Airport.

Today, more than 4,400 employees make up the Siemens Canada network coast-to-coast, and celebrate the company's 100-year commitment to providing the best results in electronics and engineering.

The week of August 29, 2012, Siemens Canada will be hosting a number of events to commemorate the occasion. A family BBQ will see 6,000 participants across the country coming together in celebration, an employee townhall, and a gala event for customers.

Siemens is also publishing a book as a token of its successes over the past century, entitled 100: A Century of Siemens in Canada.

Further resources:

Siemens' 100-year anniversary:


Found in: news

National Office

Alberta British Columbia
Manitoba New Brunswick
Newfoundland & Labrador Nova Scotia
Ontario Québec
Prince Edward Island Saskatchewan