Forgot your account information?  |  Create a CME account

Second round of workshops to connect Ontario exporters with $18.9 million in productivity funding

Published by Derek Lothian on April 25, 2012

A second set of community forums beginning in May will help exporting and export-ready manufacturers in Southern Ontario access up to $75,000 in financial support for product and process improvements.

Hosted by Canadian Manufacturers & Exporters (CME), the 11 free workshops are designed to connect companies with the information and resources necessary to take advantage of $18.9 million in new funding available through CME's SMART Prosperity Now program.

"Small and medium-sized manufacturers are facing a time of unprecedented challenge," explains Ian Howcroft, vice president, CME Ontario. "This initiative will help those businesses commercialize new technologies and invest in new equipment to ensure they remain competitive on the world stage."

Manufacturers conducting productivity assessments are eligible to receive up to 50 per cent of project costs to a maximum $5,000, while companies implementing productivity improvement projects may qualify to receive up to 33 per cent of costs to a maximum $75,000. All projects must be directly tied to export development.

Workshops are slated for Niagara Falls (May 8), Belleville (May 17), Cambridge (May 23), Barrie (May 31), Woodstock (June 6), Sarnia (June 14), Brampton (June 19) and Milton (June 22). Additional dates for Oshawa, Vaughan and Hamilton will be scheduled for the fall.

"Job creation and economic growth in Ontario relies on a healthy, prosperous manufacturing sector," says Howcroft. "The SMART Prosperity Now program can provide companies the tools they need to take their operations to the next level. The nature of business is now global, but success must start with the right conditions here at home."

For more information, or to register, visit This program is funded by the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev).

Found in: news cmenews

National Office

Alberta British Columbia
Manitoba New Brunswick
Newfoundland & Labrador Nova Scotia
Ontario Québec
Prince Edward Island Saskatchewan