Forgot your account information?  |  Create a CME account

Canada-US proposal for easing cross-border business gaining support

Published by Stephanie Brooks on June 22, 2012

An initiative to make travel more efficient for businesspeople between Canada and the US is generating strong interest from both sides of the border, from the business community to government.

Canadian Manufacturers & Exporters (CME) and eight other organizations signed a letter to Citizenship and Immigration Canada and the US Department of Homeland Security requesting the improvement of cross-border business processes as an important step towards facilitating labour mobility.

“As the US and Canada are such close business and trading partners, the movement of skilled workers between our two countries is integral,” says Mathew Wilson, CME’s vice president of national policy.

The letter, addressed to Minister of Citizenship and Immigration, Jason Kenney, and the Assistant Secretary for Policy at the US Department of Homeland Security, David Heyman, points to a series of recommendations that came out of consultations with both countries.

The signatory organizations commend the Beyond the Border Action Plan, under which both governments have committed to ensuring business travelers benefit from more smooth and effective border clearance processes. 

“All the organizations share a common goal of eliminating barriers that limit the free mobility of businesspeople between Canada and the US,” says Wilson. 

The business community plays a critical role in fostering a legal immigration system that facilitates trade, the movement of key personnel, and national security. The signatory organizations represent the interests of several thousand corporations with cross-border operations, employing millions of employees. They require access to an adequate supply of well-skilled, highly trained workers to grow their businesses and ensure both economies develop and remain competitive in the global marketplace.

To view the letter, please click here

Found in: cmenews news

National Office

Alberta British Columbia
Manitoba New Brunswick
Newfoundland & Labrador Nova Scotia
Ontario Québec
Prince Edward Island Saskatchewan